Thinking back over this course I remember being told to look at Russell Davies blog on How To Be Interesting and do at least three of the things mentioned within it.

Davies states 10 things to do in order to make yourself more interesting

  • Take at least one picture everyday. Post it to flickr.
  • Start a blog. Write at least one sentence every week.
  • Keep a scrapbook.
  • Every week, read a magazine you’ve never read before.
  • Once a month interview someone for 20 minutes, work out how to make them interesting. Podcast it.
  • Collect something.
  • Once a week sit in a coffee-shop or cafe for an hour and listen to other people’s conversations. Take notes. Blog about it. (Carefully).
  • Every month write 50 words about one piece of visual art, one piece of writing, one piece of music and one piece of film or TV. Do other art forms if you can. Blog about it.
  • Make something.
  • Read.

Now I didn’t actually think about doing any of this really, but looking back over it I can see I’ve covered some of it without trying for example, point two – start a blog – well I think I can say that that is pretty much covered after all I am writing this now aren’t I? Also point ten – read – well I read everyday whether this is in the form of a newspaper, magazine, online article or book as it gets the brain thinking about things outside it’s own world and outside the norm. As for some of the other points to try out well point three – keep a scrapbook and point six – collect something for me converge together.

I love music and often go to gigs. The tickets I get from these gigs I keep and stick in a scrap book. Along with this I often pick up badges, stickers and pieces of card containing information on certain bands, these to are saved and where possible go into the scrap book. Even on general wanders I look for free stuff that may not have any relevance to me, but has a pretty picture on to put into the scrap book. This for me, you may say is my collection and to it I am going to add the guitar picks and drumsticks collected at gigs in the hope it will all mount up to something big one day.

Although my collections of things are pretty average there are some strange things out there and these collections form museums. Now I’m not talking about natural history or science, I’m talking strange. It was only the other week on the Blighty channel that Danny Wallace presented a show about strange museums fittingly titled Danny Wallace on Museums, all part of Blighty’s My Britain section. Within the show Wallace visits a lawnmower museum, a Cuckoo clock museum and a bake bean museum to name but a few, before starting up his own museum – a collection of Smurfs in a caravan.

Although collecting something is a normal healthy thing to do, some people are truly nuts!

Below are some pictures from my scrap book and some general collections.

Some Of My Gig Tickets

sdc10025

sdc10026

sdc10033

sdc10039

Some Pictures Taken At Gigs

sdc10027

sdc10028

Some Autographs

sdc100341

sdc10035

sdc100293
sdc10036

Some Random Things Picked Up On Random Walks

sdc10030

sdc10032

sdc10037

sdc10040

Drumsticks And Guitar Picks I Got At Gigs

sdc10045

sdc10047

sdc10050

Badges – From Gigs And Other Places

sdc10043

A Spoon (It Has Meaning To Me And Five Friends)

sdc10042

