Now I’m not going to lie, I procrastinate way too much and so do many other people out there. I find that when I have something to do I put it off to the last minute and then get stressy about it needing to be done. I do realize that this isn’t always the best thing so I am going to conquer it, or try at least but where to start you say? Well the answer to that is google.

Typing in ‘ways to motivate’ into a search engine is pretty broad I must admit and I did end up with results such as ’20 ways to motivate your employees without raising their pay’, ’31 Ways to Motivate Yourself to Exercise’ and ’11 ways to motivate geeks’, but along with that I did manage to find something more useful with one website offering 25 ways to motivate yourself courtesy of self help website The Positivity Blog.

The post in question contains tips like the following:

  • Make a deal with yourself. Good for overcoming procrastination and getting things done. You can make the deal small or large. You simply tell yourself something like: When I’m done with this chapter/these reports I can take a walk in the park and enjoy an ice-cream.
  • Remember to have fun. Or create fun in a task. Then you’ll stay motivated to do and finish it.
  • Do something small and create a flow. Just clean your desk. Or pay your bills. Or wash the dishes. You just need to get started. When you have finished that small task you’ll feel more alert and ready to go do the next thing. You just to get started to get motivated. So if you really don’t feel like doing anything, start with something small and work your way out up.
  • Cut down on TV. Do you watch it too much? Watch less of what they are doing in TV-land and do more of what you want to do in life.
  • Think outside your box. Don’t imagine the future from the box of what you have now. Just because your mind is in box of previous experiences doesn’t mean that´s the limits of the world. Your possibilities are much larger. Create the future from the now and from nothing rather than your past to experience bigger changes with fewer limitations than you would if you created it from what you can see from your box.

Although I do realize that not all these tips apply to doing work as soon as you get it, I do see them as useful to know so to read the other 20 tips and well get motivated.

